If you want to keep the workplace-level chatroom free from employee chatters and use it only for company-wide announcements only, there is an option for that!
When the setting is turned on, only workplace admins are allowed to freely use the workplace-level chatroom. But please note that, although employees are not allowed to send texts, photos, videos, locations, and stickers in the workplace-level chatroom, they are still free to create group chatrooms to communicate and collaborate as normal.
Set Admins-Only Workplace-Level Chatroom
- Enter the Workplace Settings.
- Click Workplace Privacy.
- Set the Who Can Chat option.
- Owner and Admin │ Only workplace owner and admins are allowed to freely send chat messages in the workplace-level chatroom.
- Everyone │ All members are allowed to send chat messages in the workplace-level chatroom.
- WorkDo has design three levels (workplace, group & buddy) for different kinds of workplace communication and collaboration. It is intentional that settings that control communication and collaboration are separated. As such, Who Can Chat controls who are allowed to chat in the workplace-level chatroom and Who Can Post controls who are allowed to create tool posts at the workplace level.
Can I use the workplace level for admins only?
Allow members to use their nicknames?
Can I control members from creating public or private groups?
Who is allowed to invite new members into workplaces or groups?
What do different roles do in a workplace or group?
How to add admins to workplaces or groups?